So I was at Bible study today and someone said something quite interesting. Actually, it’s been mentioned a few times already, I just never made the link before. Apparently it’s a quotation from Martin Luther (I’m not sure), the guy that started the Protestant movement. He said, “Freedom isn’t doing what you want to do; it’s **not having to do what you don’t want to do**.”

Then I thought about it a little bit more and related it back to the “freedom in Christ” thing that you were talking about awhile ago. I think the most horrible thing that ties us down, that keeps us from being free, is sin. With our sin, we walk around with a burden every day, everywhere. Sin is the strongest obstacle that keeps us away from God, and if we don’t break away from our sins, we will always be bound to them and be enslaved forever.

However, if we confess our sins and accept Jesus as our personal saviour, then our sins are relieved from our backs and we are free from the burden because we have handed the sins over to Jesus. It’s really not all that easy to confess our sins, though. One problem a lot of Christians face is the notion that we KNOW God will forgive sins when we ask, so we keep sinning because we know we just have to ask for forgiveness, and it will be given. I know I take advantage of that a lot.

So in order to be really free from our sins, we have to learn to break away from the control of Satan. For example, I might say, I should read the Bible instead of going on the internet today, but how many times do I actually DO it? Probably not often. At this moment, I don’t “want” to go on the internet, but I do it anyway, so I don’t achieve the “not having to do what I DON’T want to do” part.

When we reach the level of being able to say no, being able to refuse the temptations that keep us in the world of sin and away from God, then perhaps we can really be “free in Christ”. When I can say “no” to watching a TV show and do devotion instead, when I can truly walk away from what’s separating me from God, when I can readily call on the power of God to deliver me from the temptation and actually DO it, then I can, as Martin Luther said, not doing what I don’t want to do, and in turn be “free in Christ”.

