As I was reading your post I was thinking of Job, a man whose life encompassed every curse and suffering possible, yet still continued to praise and cling onto God. Then I read Our Daily Bread today and it just happened to be talking about Job. Perhaps you should give it a read first: http://odb.org/

I have another friend who ranted to me about life in general last night – money, jobs, future, all that. The difference between you and him is that he’s not a Christian, and he doesn’t cling onto God for hope. I feel like this is a chance for me to spread the gospel to him, but that is another story for another day…

Anyway, I said to him, perhaps I don’t understand what you are all going through with this “real life” thing because I am still hiding behind the shelter of schooling. Maybe part of the reason I chose to continue with school was that I didn’t want to face real life yet. So, I’m not going to lie and say I completely understand how you guys feel, because I don’t know what it feels like to go home tired every day hoping for something exciting to happen. I don’t know what it feels like to have to worry about buying a house, buying a car, getting married, or having a whole family to support. I don’t know what it feels like to be disappointed again and again after so many trials of job searching.

Thinking about you and Darwin’s situation reminded me of an article that I read a few days ago. If you don’t want to read the whole thing, I’ll extract some relevant points for you here.

但祂的確也說過「凡我所愛的,我就責備管教」。所以,發生在我們身上的每件壞事都算是管教吧!那好事呢?誰能定義哪件事算做管教?人總是用自己的意思詮釋神的心意,所以年薪百萬、身體健全就是神的祝福,我一定做了什麼好事才有此報償。相反的,失業又生病就成了詛咒,我一定是做錯了什麼,神要懲罰我!

基督徒和世人沒有不同,他們會遇到的,我們也會。不是信了神就萬事OK,他沒把主耶穌當作只賜福利平安的神明。 基督徒和世人唯一的不同,就在於我們裡面的生命,你該怎麼從各種環境中活出基督,彰顯基督。他讓我想起使徒保羅說的話:「我知道怎樣處卑賤,也知道怎樣處富餘;或飽足、或飢餓、或富餘、或缺乏,在各事上,並在一切事上,我都學得祕訣。我在那加我能力者的裡面,凡事都能作。」

About the whole envy thing, a lot of bitterness does come from all the comparison. I know it’s easy to say we shouldn’t compare ourselves to other people, but we are humans after all, and it is in our genes to compare, to want to be better than other people. But in the end, what truly measures happiness and fulfillment? Who is to say that you guys will be truly happy when Darwin has a new job, when you get a bigger house, when you get married and have kids? I bet a new slew of problems will be waiting for you once you enter the new stages in life – maybe Darwin won’t like his new job, maybe you’ll have to work extra hard to pay off a mortgage, maybe you will be stressed out about married life.

I’m not trying to make you feel MORE emo, but I think being satisfied with what we have is so important. Remember the topic of “freedom in Christ”? I just had a flash of inspiration. Does “freedom in Christ” mean you are fully satisfied with what God has given you, trusting in Him alone to provide and not worrying about the future? I mean, maybe YOU want to get married soon but God knows you’re not ready yet, and you’re thinking God isn’t giving you what you want. Maybe Darwin wants a new job but perhaps God still has a mission for Darwin to complete before giving him something better.

I’m sorry I kinda suck at consolations .___. I think we should chat on the phone sometime XD

