A man lives in a house with 10 rooms, 5 upstairs and 5 downstairs. One day, someone knocks on the door. The man opens the door and sees Jesus. Jesus asks for a room to stay in. The man says, “Sure, come on in.” He offers Jesus a room upstairs.

The next morning, someone knocks on the door again. The man, still half-asleep, drags himself to the door. Upon opening it, he sees Satan standing outside. Unwilling to let Satan enter his house, the man begins an epic battle with the uninvited guest. After hours of duelling, he finally defeats Satan and shuts the door, exhausted.

At this moment, the man suddenly thinks of something. “Wait,” he says to himself, “doesn’t Jesus live here? Why didn’t he come out to help me?” Confused, the man goes to the room where Jesus is staying and argues with Jesus. “Jesus,” he says, “why did you not come out to help me when I was battling with Satan?”

Calmly Jesus replies, “You are the host, my dear friend, and I am just a guest. This house belongs to you, and I don’t have any right to interrupt any business you have.”

The man contemplates for awhile and understands the meaning behind Jesus’ words. He says to Jesus, “Okay, sir. From this day forth, I give you all 5 rooms upstairs. You may occupy any of them.” Jesus nods. Content, the man goes back to his room.

The next morning, the man hears once again loud knocks on the door. He approaches the door and opens it to see Satan standing there. Frustrated, the man throws himself in a battle with Satan. After hours of duelling, he finally defeats Satan and shuts the door, exhausted.

At this moment, the man remembers Jesus, who is still staying at his house, and says to himself, “I’ve already given Jesus 5 rooms, why hasn’t he come out to help me?” Skeptical, the man goes to the room where Jesus is staying and confronts Jesus. “Jesus,” he says, “I have already give you half of all of the rooms in my house. Why did you not come out to help me when I was battling with Satan?”

Jesus softly replies, “My dear friend, even if you have given me half of the rooms in your entire house, you are still the host, and I am still only a guest. I have no authority in this house.”

These words strike the man and he finally understands fully. “Jesus,” he declares, “From now on, I give you my entire house and all of its rooms, and all of my possessions. Now, you are the host, and I am the guest.” Jesus nods and gladly accepts the proposal. Feeling that a heavy burden has been dispatched from his back, the man goes back to his room and sleeps tightly for the night.

The next morning, the man hears knocking on the door. He is just about to get out of his bed when he remembers that he is now the guest while Jesus is the host, so the man stays in bed, worry-free and waiting for Jesus to take care of the rest.

Before long, the man hears footsteps coming from upstairs. The footsteps grow louder until they reach the front door. The man listens as Jesus opens the door and comes face to face with Satan. Jesus says, “Are you looking for someone?”

“I apologize,” Satan says with fear, “I must have gotten the wrong house.”

