Sometimes it seems like the hardest thing in the world to get out of bed!! Even after 8 hours of sleep…I still turn in my bed until the last minute before I’m late for work. But God talks to us in the bible about laziness…about the consequences of being sluggish, and how we shouldn’t be lazy!!

“Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for men. Since you know that you will receive an inheritance from the Lord as a reward. It is the Lord Christ you are serving” Col 3:23-24

I found this passage on my manager’s desk (he’s a Christian as well), and found it to be so encouraging, when we can change our perspective towards work, and treat it as though we are serving God, not ourselves, and not our managers/bosses.

At work, there’s a lot of times where I want to be more slack, and “work from home”. I know that I *can* do that and nobody will say bad things about it, because likely I’ve worked overtime to cover for that, and our department is good about these things. Working from home is really tempting, I can sit in my PJ’s with a cup of tea, and then play assassin’s creed on PS3 while I answer several emails and call it a day.

But I don’t think God wants me to take advantage of these things, because although “everything is permissible, not everything is beneficial”, and it can become a habit, and soon it’ll get harder and harder for me to go to work with an attitude of “I’m ready to take on today”.

There’s quite a number of verses in Proverb’s that speak to sluggishness:

“The sluggard’s craving will be the death of him, because his hands refuse to work.” 21:25

“The sluggard is wiser in his own eyes than seven men who answer discreetly.” 26:16

“A sluggard does not plow in season, so at harvest time he looks but finds nothing.” 20:4

If we don’t sow and plow and work hard at the field, we don’t reap anything when harvest comes. I pray God will continue to teach me to get rid of laziness, to be dedicated and motivated at work, even when I can take the easy way out.

